Rant About Meanies

It has been brought to my attention that my last post about turning off the computer and playing with my kid came across as judgy.

Let me be perfectly clear. I was only judging myself.

Last week, my little teething angel came up to me and tried to get my attention while I was online. I tickled her belly, pointed out a toy across the room and continued reading my Twitter stream. She came over again and bashed my laptop with her purple stuffed bunny and looked mad as hell.

And I got angry.

I was, and still am, crazy tired. This has been a household that has gotten little to no sleep in the last week or so and it’s been rough. Molars suck. But that’s a crummy excuse.

I peeled myself away from the drama I was witnessing online, which was amusing but infuriating, to give some snuggles. And it was totally worth it. I felt like a giant ass for getting mad at my toddler because three people I didn’t really know were having an ignorant word war online.

I felt horrible so I wrote about it.

I needed to talk and have met nobody here I can call a friend yet. The time difference leaves me feeling disconnected from my friends in the States but I had to get it off my chest. So I told my blog. And apparently one of my five readers took offense. And shared with their friends.

I awoke to no less than 10 DM’s from a couple of hateful people.

Reading mean messages after getting 2 hours of sleep is pretty rough. I’m not going to lie, I cried. Sobbed, actually. Like a baby. For a good, long time.

Listen, I’m not here to judge anyone. That’s not the purpose of my blog. I’m just trying to find my way in a new place. I’m documenting what my family eats because I enjoy cooking. I’m writing about trying to lose a whole bucketful of weight, because I need to be held accountable and I want to try to gain a support system. I share what I do.

I’m really envious of the mama’s out there that have kids that will give them an hour or so of peace during the day. One day, we’ll get there. She’ll play, I’ll play online. But we’re not there yet.

I don’t get time to myself and my husband is working 60-70 hours a week. I need a break. As it is, I almost always need to stay up late after my husband and daughter have both gone to bed in order for me to complete a blog post.

Except for now, because I’m lucky and my girl is taking a nap that is longer than 30 minutes.

I don’t want to whine because I have a lucky life. We were able to afford for me to stay home. But that doesn’t make my life perfect. And I have feelings too. Please be respectful of them, even if you don’t like what I happen to be talking about.

</endrant

About Jody

I am a wife. A mom. A newbie to New Zealand. I cook, I clean and am working on getting healthy. I am obsessed with coffee, love watching Burn Notice, and am happiest when (good) music is playing. View all posts by Jody

2 responses to “Rant About Meanies

  • Amy @ babybabylemon

    People suck. Internet people suck even more. It comes with the territory, but I wish it didn’t have to. I hope you unfollowed them. It is unusual for bitchiness to take the jump from blog to twitter, normally it stays from which it came, but that makes it seem even more aggressive. So sorry this had to hit you so soon.

  • tlf

    Chances are all of those folks either have never had kids or lie to themselves about the kind of parent they are. I know it’s hard to stop whatever you are doing, all the time, to fulfill the needs of another. I had a very demanding baby 9 years ago who is now a totally cool little girl, but I’ll tell you I wouldn’t have won any parenting awards during those first 2 years.

    Sometimes, even if our current task is stupid and menial, you just don’t want to be bothered. You are allowed time for YOU whether it is to check facebook, read a chapter of a book or stand on your head singing lady gaga. My point is you should be able to do it.

    Chin up. Those douchebags can just piss off.

Leave a Reply

