Menu Plan Monday: Week 4

Last week my husband said if I made the grocery list he’d do the shopping. This was an especially good deal for me because my list was already done and was categorized by department and was in order by where the stuff was in the store. So off he went. He came home 2.5 hours later, missing 3 things and was $150 over budget. WTF?

I decided to stretch the one week menu plan into two. Leftovers became second dinners instead of lunches. Side dishes were pulled from mains and paired to make a full dinner all by themselves. It worked quite well. I can seriously thank my lucky stars I had plenty of lettuce in the crisper for salads to whip up and that my experimental soup ended up making enough for two dinners. I also ended up making the easiest, tastiest biscuits! I needed something the second day of soup and didn’t have all of the ingredients to make the usual buttermilk variety. So I turned to the internet and found a recipe that was so different I HAD to try it. I didn’t think they’d be good enough to post and I didn’t take a picture so I need to make them again this week. I swear, I’ll post it later this week.

The highlights from last week were broccoli salad, the biscuits and the minestrone soup. Here’s the soup recipe. It was SO good and very, very filling. Plus, it was on the table in just over an hour. It was the perfect dinner for the stormy, wet days we were having last week.

I analyzed the receipt and (sort of) figured out what the heck happened. I’m glad that I was able to figure out a way to make it work so we didn’t blow up the budget this month. We did go over a little because I made tacos last Saturday but beef mince (ground beef) was on sale for a really good price and I had everything else in the pantry. And dang it, I *REALLY* wanted them.

This week, I have the following:

Mon – Chicken & Dumplings, green salad
Tue – Takeaway – our once a month treat (which is almost always horrible – we’re probably going to phase this out)
Wed – Pot Roast, mashed potatoes, peas
Thu – Lemon chicken, brown rice, probably more peas. Hubs bought a 2KG bag of frozen peas.
Fri – Beef and Cheddar Sammiches (with leftover pot roast), either mac n’ cheese or frozen fries, probably frozen peas
Sat – Chicken with sherry soy sauce, rice, sauteed cabbage

Interested in starting your own MPM post? Click here for info.

About Jody

I am a wife. A mom. A newbie to New Zealand. I cook, I clean and am working on getting healthy. I am obsessed with coffee, love watching Burn Notice, and am happiest when (good) music is playing. View all posts by Jody

Leave a Reply

