What’s For Dinner: 17-Jan: Chili Honey Chicken

I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned it before but my husband loves chicken. He would happily eat it every single night without complaint. Since I’m not as big of a fan, I need to do a lot of different things with it so I don’t become sick and tired of it. I came across this recipe on Home Ec 101 and I’m SO glad that I did. It was so unbelievably tasty. To see the original recipe, click here.

That being said, I think the next time I make it I’m going to do some experimenting and try cooking it in the slow cooker. I have a feeling it will be even better. I’ll post an update in a couple weeks when I do. Yes, it was THAT good. I already want to make it again. I’m pretty sure I would make it again tonight if I had any chicken laying around.

I used my own chili powder for this recipe because I can’t find it anywhere in Wellington. If anyone out there wants the recipe for it, let me know and I’ll post it.

Looking at this now, I should have wiped off the plate. Heh.

Chili Honey Chicken
Serves 2, with enough for 1 lunch the next day
6 boneless, skinless chicken thighs
2 t garlic powder
2 t chili powder
1 t salt
2 t paprika
2 t ground cumin
Glaze:
1/4 c honey
1 T apple cider vinegar
1/2 t red pepper flakes

1. Put chicken and next 5 spices, into a bowl and mix well. I used my hands because it seemed easiest.
2. Put on baking sheet lined with foil. Broil 6 minutes then flip over. Broil 6 more minutes.
3. Brush glaze on chicken. Broil 1 minute.
4. Flip over and brush more glaze on chicken. Broil 1 more minute until cooked through.

I served this with rice and peas. I chose this side dish because my toddler loves peas. I love how it came together really quickly and it made me question why I ever used to buy instant rice.

Here’s the recipe:

Rice and Peas
Serves 3 for dinner with leftovers
1 T butter
1 small onion, diced
1 c long grain white rice
2 c chicken stock
1 c peas(I used frozen)

  1. Melt butter in saucepan that has a tight fitting lid.
  2. Add diced onion and saute until softened.
  3. Add rice and saute for a couple minutes, until it becomes opaque.
  4. Add chicken stock and bring to a boil.  Stir it up, cover and reduce the heat to low.
  5. After 20 minutes,  add peas, stir. Turn off heat.
  6. Put the lid back on for at least 2-5 minutes, this will heat the peas and they won’t overcook or get mushy.
About Jody

I am a wife. A mom. A newbie to New Zealand. I cook, I clean and am working on getting healthy. I am obsessed with coffee, love watching Burn Notice, and am happiest when (good) music is playing. View all posts by Jody

2 responses to “What’s For Dinner: 17-Jan: Chili Honey Chicken

  • Heather Solos

    I am so glad you like the recipes. You’ll have to forgive me for being so US centric, but like so many Americans, I have zero experience with what’s available elsewhere. If it isn’t too much trouble, could you drop me a line / comment when you see an ingredient that isn’t usually available for you? I’d love to be able to list substitutions to make my site more accessible for others.

    Have you tried the stewed chicken recipe on the site? That one is probably my absolute favorite. I’m not a huge chicken fan, either.

    • kumquatsicle

      Hi, Heather! I will absolutely drop you a line if I have trouble finding an ingredient. So far, it seems to be mainly Mexican ingredients. There just isn’t a demand for them here in New Zealand. Which blows my mind, having grown up on Mexican food. I’ll take it as a blessing in disguise as I was able to make a chili powder using spices I could find in the markets and it really is quite tasty.

      I have not tried the stewed chicken yet but I will be sure to check it out!

      Thank you so much for your site. I love, love, love it! I’ve learned so much from you and I’m very grateful.

Leave a Reply

