Saturday Baked Treat: Lemon Glazed Blueberry Scones

I used to make thousands of scones every week when I worked in the bakery. I loved that quiet yet insanely busy time of the day and daydream about it from time to time when I’m feeling nostalgic.

Now that many years have passed, I still find making scones therapeutic. From the way the flour feels in my hands to the way my house smells when they bake. I could make them every week for my family and never get tired of them. One thing I especially like about them is that they don’t require any special equipment. No mixer or muffin tins are required. Another plus is that most of the ingredients are pantry staples for me so all I need to do is buy some berries and I’m ready to get baking.

The finished product. Blueberry Lemon Tastiness.

Blueberry Lemon Scones
Makes about 8-10 scones, depending on how big you cut ’em
For the scones:
2 c all purpose flour
1 T baking powder
3 T sugar
1/2 t salt
5 T cold butter, diced
zest of one lemon, about 1 t
1/2 c blueberries
1 c heavy cream

For the glaze:
3/4 c powdered sugar
juice from one lemon, about 1 T

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  2. In a medium bowl, stir together flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.  Add butter and lemon zest.
  3. Using a pastry blender, two butter knives or your hands (my preferred method) cut/combine butter into flour mixture until butter is about the size of peas.
  4. Add blueberries and give a quick stir.
  5. Add cream and mix only until the dough begins to form.  As soon as it does, stop.
  6. Turn dough out onto floured counter top.  Gently knead dough until it comes together, about 10 seconds.
  7. Pat dough into a rectangle about 1/2 – 3/4″ thick
  8. Cut dough in half horizontally.
  9. Yeah, I cut these a little large. It made my husband VERY happy.

    These are smaller 🙂

  10. Cut into triangles, however big or small you like them.
  11. Place onto baking sheet
  12. Brush with egg wash (1 egg + water) or cream
  13. Bake for 12-15 minutes, until the tops are a nice golden brown
  14. Remove from oven and place on a rack to cool for about 10 minutes
  15. Make glaze:  in a small bowl, stir lemon juice into powdered sugar and stir well.
  16. Drizzle glaze over scones.
About Jody

I am a wife. A mom. A newbie to New Zealand. I cook, I clean and am working on getting healthy. I am obsessed with coffee, love watching Burn Notice, and am happiest when (good) music is playing. View all posts by Jody

5 responses to “Saturday Baked Treat: Lemon Glazed Blueberry Scones

Leave a Reply

