What’s For Dinner: 06-Jan: Pork Stir-fry with Cashew Rice

I came across this recipe at the Cooking Light website when I was on the prowl for healthy, quick dinners for my first weekly menu. I chose it mainly for my husband because he loves cashews. And stir-fries. I am not usually a fan of nuts in savory dishes but I knew he’d dig it.

Although I was not planning to, I ended up making some changes to the original recipe. I was not able to get sugar snap peas so we got fresh peas that I used in their place. We’re fungi haters so I left out the mushrooms. I used about half the amount of ginger called for. And I made more rice than was called for because we’re piggies. If you’re interested in seeing the original recipe, you can check it out by clicking here.

This took me under 30 minutes to make and that’s including making the rice. Although I haven’t been able to find it here, those rice pouches that you can get in the freezer section of some stores (Trader Joe’s) would work super well. I was lucky and was able to get pork cubes in the meat section of my market. I believe it was called pork stew meat but I bet using a couple of boneless pork chops would be pretty quick to dice up.

Pork Stir-fry W/ Cashew Rice
Serves 2 for dinner with a generous lunch portion leftover
1 c uncooked long-grain white rice
2 green onions, split in half lengthwise and chopped
1/4 c dry-roasted, salted cashews, chopped
2/3 c chicken stock
2 T cornstarch, divided
3 T soy sauce, divided
2 T honey
1 lb pork cubes (I used 3/4″ cubes)
1 c onion, chopped
1/2 T fresh ginger, minced
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 cup fresh peas, shelled
1 red bell pepper, diced

  1. Cook the rice according to package directions. When rice is cooked, stir in green onions and cashews. Set aside and cover to keep warm.
  2. In a small bowl, combine chicken stock, 1 T cornstarch, 2 T soy sauce and honey. Set aside.
  3. In a medium bowl, mix pork, 1 T cornstarch and 1 T soy sauce.  Be sure the pork is coated well.
  4. Heat a swirl of oil in a nonstick skillet over medium high heat.
  5. Add pork and saute until browned, about 6 minutes.  Set aside.
  6. If the pan is dry, add a little bit more oil to the pan.  Add onions and saute for a couple minutes until they begin to soften.
  7. Add ginger and garlic, saute 30 seconds or so until fragrant.
  8. Add bell pepper and saute for a minute or two, until it begins to soften up a little.
  9. Add peas and sauce.  Bring to a boil.  Cook until the sauce begins to thicken, stirring constantly.
  10. Serve over cashew rice.
About Jody

I am a wife. A mom. A newbie to New Zealand. I cook, I clean and am working on getting healthy. I am obsessed with coffee, love watching Burn Notice, and am happiest when (good) music is playing. View all posts by Jody

Leave a Reply

