2011: My Goals

It’s taken me a little bit of time this year to get my goals written out.  As I may have mentioned before, I have horrible follow through with resolutions.  I’m so bad at it. Most years I come up with something so ridiculous there is no way I could accomplish what I’ve set out to do. This year, I wanted to challenge myself without making it unrealistically difficult. As I was trying to figure out the details of the fitness goal, I asked my husband what he thought about it.  He suggested that I make 2 tiers for it.  The lower tier would be my goal.  The second, higher tier would be a prize goal.  I like the sound of that.  A lot.  So I jumped at it.  I have some control over the prize and it may be a fancy digital SLR camera. Could be all new clothes. I am open to suggestions and if you have an idea for a great prize, please leave me a comment!!

::sigh:: Here they are.  Go easy on me  if you think I’m insane.

1.  Make a weekly menu plan, shopping list and cook at home more.  I enjoy cooking so this one was kind of a no-brainer.  I was using the “I don’t have time!” excuse and then clocked just how much time I was spending on social media sites.  So, cutting down on my time-wasting unfortunately will be going along with this one. At least until I get into a routine.

2. Move.  I got inspired by a blog post I read and this goal was born.  Lynnie over at These Three Girlies is vowing to run 1000 miles in 2011 and since I’m a fatty, I’m vowing to do 1600 km (the equivalent) of anything.  It can be bike, walk, trot, skip or even my old favorite the elliptical trainer.  The upper tier is taking it up to 2080 km, which is the equivalent of doing 8 km a day, 5 days a week for a year.  And since I’ve got an extra dose of crazy today, I decided to throw in 1600 push ups and 1600 full sit ups just for fun.

My progress so far:

0 miles/0 push ups/2 sit ups (I wasn’t sure I could even DO a sit up, so I tried doing a couple)

Woo hoo!  I’m on my way!

Me and Lauren at the beach, Day 1.

I didn’t want to post this picture of myself. At all. But that’s why I did it. I’ll be posting a picture of myself once a month. Hopefully, I’ll begin to look a little healthier at some point.

About Jody

I am a wife. A mom. A newbie to New Zealand. I cook, I clean and am working on getting healthy. I am obsessed with coffee, love watching Burn Notice, and am happiest when (good) music is playing. View all posts by Jody

7 responses to “2011: My Goals

Leave a Reply

