What’s for Dinner: 03-Jan: Chicken and Asparagus in Wine Sauce

My husband loves chicken. He could eat it every night. I’m not as big of a fan so I need to mix it up pretty frequently or I get bored stiff with dinner.

The original recipe came from an issue of Cooking Light magazine a number of years ago and has been tweaked to suit our tastes.  I didn’t make many changes though, I added some olive oil when browning the chicken, decreased the salt and increased the garlic.

Chicken & Asparagus in Wine Sauce

Chicken & Asparagus in Wine Sauce
Serves 4

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, pounded thin 1/4″ or so
1/4 t salt
1/4 t pepper
2 T butter
1T olive oil
1/3 c flour
1/2 c white wine
1/2 c chicken stock
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 pound asparagus
2 T parsley, minced
juice of 1 lemon

  1. In a skillet (I use nonstick) heat butter and olive oil.
  2. Sprinkle salt and pepper on both sides of chicken breasts.
  3. Dredge chicken in the flour and shake off excess.
  4. Place chicken in pan and cook on each side about 4 minutes, or until golden brown.
  5. Remove chicken from pan and place on a plate.
  6. Pour stock, wine and garlic into pan and scrape up any browned bits.
  7. Add asparagus, cover and cook until al dente, about 7-10 minutes.
  8. Add lemon juice and parsley. Stir well.
  9. Place chicken on dinner plates and spoon sauce over, if desired.  I served this with smashed red potatoes but it would be super good with rice.

The leftovers heated up super well.  I reheated my portion in the oven and my husband heated his up at work in a microwave.  He said it even better today.  Score!

Leftovers! It reheated so well.

 

About Jody

I am a wife. A mom. A newbie to New Zealand. I cook, I clean and am working on getting healthy. I am obsessed with coffee, love watching Burn Notice, and am happiest when (good) music is playing. View all posts by Jody

2 responses to “What’s for Dinner: 03-Jan: Chicken and Asparagus in Wine Sauce

Leave a Reply

