Menu Plan Monday: Wk 1

For quite awhile now, I have wanted to be organized enough to start planning the menu in our house. I hate trying to figure out what we’re going to have for dinner each afternoon. It seems that 4 times out of 7, I don’t have the ingredients on hand to make what I decide I want and then a trip to the store is in order. This creates 4 opportunities to buy crap that we just do not need along with the 1 or 2 things we do.

Last week when I catching up on my reader I followed a couple links and ended up landing at orgjunkie.com, where I found the Menu Plan Monday (MPM) link up.

Since the New Year has begun, I’ve decided that creating a menu plan each week is a great goal for me. It gives me a way to budget, ensure healthful eating, and it will decrease the dreaded impulse buying we’ve become so bad at. It may even lead to less waste. I HATE throwing food away. It feels like I’m just stuffing dollars right in the rubbish bin. That needs to stop.

I’m excited to begin this and have high hopes that I won’t abandon it mid-month. Also, I’ll likely post the yummiest recipes here so I won’t forget about them, as I tend to do now.

  • Mon:  Chicken & Asparagus in wine sauce w/ parm chive smashed potatoes
  • Tue:   Warm Tortellini & Cherry Tomato salad, dinner rolls
  • Wed:  Balsamic Roast Chicken, braised carrots, roasted potatoes
  • Thu:   Pork & Veggie Stir-fry w/ cashew rice
  • Fri:     Bacon, Arugula & Shrimp salad, quinoa pilaf
  • Sat:    BBQ Chicken pizza

Just for the record, I’m not looking forward to the cashew rice. I’m not a fan of nuts in savory foods. But J loves them. So I’m doing it for him.

Interested in starting your own MPM post? Click here for info.

About Jody

I am a wife. A mom. A newbie to New Zealand. I cook, I clean and am working on getting healthy. I am obsessed with coffee, love watching Burn Notice, and am happiest when (good) music is playing. View all posts by Jody

4 responses to “Menu Plan Monday: Wk 1

  • Amy @ babybabylemon

    My family did menu planning every week growing up. My one piece of advice: it only works if you make everything even if you have no desire to eat it that night. Switching nights is a slippery slope. Once a week is fine, but otherwise it starts becoming a pain in the butt.

  • Natalie

    I really need to do this. But I have no follow through, and I always have that “ugh, I’m not in the mood for XYZ” so blerg.

    But I’m impressed with your menu, it all sounds so yummy. MY goal is to make one “different” food once a week.

    And what about leftovers? I always seem to have so many so by day four I would have enough for the rest of the week ;o)

    This is awesome that you’re doing it though! Good luck!

    • kumquatsicle

      Natalie, I’ve have that “but I don’t wanna eat that!” thing in the past too. But hopefully on days like that I’ll just eat less, which would be a nice bonus. I’m just hoping to avoid any last minute shopping trips, which just kill my budget.

      My plan for leftovers are to have a leftover buffet night, which will actually be Thursday but may be Sunday because I’m still on the fence about it. But that will give me a night off from cooking and there will be minimal clean up. Also, last night (and tonight) I packed up the leftovers and sent them to work with J for lunch. So there may not even be enough leftover to have a buffet night.

      I don’t really have it all thought out and I know some weeks will work better than others but I’m hoping that some planning will help me get on track and make it less likely for us to eat takeaway crap for dinner.

      ~ Jody

Leave a Reply

