What’s For Dinner: 27-Dec: Chipotle Pork and Potato Burritos

My husband got me a slow cooker for Christmas. I’m so happy! I love being able to do a little bit of prep work when I can, toss everything into the pot and forget about it for hours. The best part is after awhile the house smells super great and dinner is 90% made. Since I had some pork in the freezer and the rest of the ingredients in my pantry, I decided to break in my slow cooker making one of my my husbands favorite taco/burrito fillings. It’s so good that after we’ve finished eating we’re always left wanting more.

The recipe is based off of one I saw made on Mexico One Plate At a Time (episode Tacos Hola!) a handful of months ago.

Chipotle Pork and Potato Filling for burritos or tacos
Serves 2-3 taco addicts that can’t say no to just 2 tacos, 4-6 regular folks
1.5 lb pork cubes, I like pork shoulder cubes or pork stew meat
3 white skinned potatoes, scrubbed and diced about the same size chunks as pork
1 can diced tomatoes (28 oz), I LOVE the muir glen fire roasted in this but regular is fine and is what I used tonight
1 onion, sliced
2 T Worcestershire sauce
2-3 chipotles packed in adobo sauce, minced – or to taste
1 T adobo canning liquid from the chipotles
salt, to taste

Serve with:
corn or flour tortillas
pinto or black beans

Garnish with any of the following:
avocado or guacamole
cheese
sour cream
lettuce or cabbage

  1. Pat pork cubes dry and sprinkle with 1/2 t  salt.
  2. Put diced potatoes in bottom of the slow cooker.
  3. In large pan, heat 1 T canola oil until shimmering.  Add pork cubes and brown well.  Be careful not to overcrowd the pan.  When cubes are brown, add to slow cooker over potatoes.
  4. Add a little water or juice from the tomatoes to the pot and scrape brown bits up from the pan.  Once they’re all up, pour mixture over pork cubes.
  5. Scatter onion slices over pork cubes.
  6. Add canned tomatoes, minced chipotles, adobo sauce, Worcestershire sauce and 1 t salt.  Stir.
  7. Cook on high for 3-4 hours or on low for 5-7 hours or until pork cubes fall apart and potatoes are tender.
  8. Near the end of the cooking time, taste and add salt, if necessary.
  9. Warm tortillas and assemble burritos or tacos to your liking.
About Jody

I am a wife. A mom. A newbie to New Zealand. I cook, I clean and am working on getting healthy. I am obsessed with coffee, love watching Burn Notice, and am happiest when (good) music is playing. View all posts by Jody

Leave a Reply

