What’s For Dinner: Thursday Dec 9: Hamburger Macaroni

I didn’t feel much like cooking tonight so I wanted to make something that I could make in one pan so clean up would be a snap. I also wanted to use up the veggies I had in my fridge so none would go to waste this week. I raided my pantry, cleared out the fridge and came up with this. It made a ton so I froze half for another dinner which was a nice unexpected bonus. Granted, I’m not sure how well it will freeze. I’ll find out in a week or so and then I’ll post an update.

UPDATE: This dish does not freeze well, at least not with the macaroni in the mix. If freezing half, separate out the sauce an pop it in a freezer bag after step 6. You can even do it before the water is added. Otherwise the noodles with disintegrate and it will become the ugliest food you have ever seen. No kidding.

Hamburger Macaroni
Serves: 6-8 for the entire recipe is my best guess

1 T olive oil
1 pound ground beef
1 t seasoned salt or salt/herb blend (I used Jane’s Krazy Mixed Up Salt)
1/8 t ground red pepper
1 medium yellow onion, chopped
3 green onions, green tops only, chopped
1 green bell pepper, chopped
1/2 red bell pepper, chopped
3 med stalks celery, chopped
28 oz can of diced tomatoes, crushed would work well too
2 T Worcestershire sauce
1/4 c chopped parsley
2 c elbow macaroni
shredded cheese

1. Heat oil in dutch oven or soup pot over medium high heat.
2. Add beef, sprinkle with seasoned salt and red pepper and brown well. Remove from pot and set aside.
3. Add onions and green onion tops to pot and cook over medium heat until softened, about 5 minutes.
4. Add beef back to pan. Stir well.
5. Stir in celery and bell peppers and cook for 5 minutes, or until softened. Taste and add salt and pepper, if necessary.
6. Pour in canned tomatoes (with juice) and about half of a can of water. Add Worcestershire sauce. The mixture will look slightly soupy.
7. Add macaroni to the pan and simmer until macaroni is just shy al dente. About 8 minutes. They’ll finish cooking in the oven.
8. If freezing half, add half of mixture into casserole dish and half into container. I used a gallon size zip top freezer bag.
8. Stir parsley into casserole dish. Cover liberally with shredded cheese and bake until cheese is melty. Sprinkle with a little more parsley for garnish, if desired.
9. Enjoy!

About Jody

I am a wife. A mom. A newbie to New Zealand. I cook, I clean and am working on getting healthy. I am obsessed with coffee, love watching Burn Notice, and am happiest when (good) music is playing. View all posts by Jody

Leave a Reply

