Leaving On A Jet Plane

I was terrified to fly halfway across the world with my husband and baby. TERRIFIED. Not only was I worried about my plane falling out of the sky, I didn’t know how my usually good tempered daughter would do on the plane. I know I shouldn’t, but I DO care about what other people think. I try to keep Lauren from screaming and crying in restaurants and markets because I HATE those looks. You know the ones. The sideways glances from people who most likely don’t have children. They roll their eyes. They comment to their companions about how that mother can’t control her kid. It makes me mad. SO, I try my hardest to keep my baby in a good mood.

The plane we'll be riding on

But who the heck am I kidding? 3 airports, 2 airplanes and 24 hours of travel time. There was NO way I was going to make that trip without upsetting some people.

I learned:

1 – That airport staff is helpful! It’s true. Even better was I didn’t have to ask for the help. I guess if you look lost and freaked out they just sort of help you so you don’t scare the others.

2 – To declare the foods and drinks I was taking on board or into the country for my kid. I was honest about everything I had and I had A LOT. I took so much food on board, I looked nuts. And I don’t care. It came in handy both on the flights and during the first week we were here. Yes, there ARE bully airport workers out there but I was lucky. I didn’t run into any of them. Well, I ran into one but it was in the gift shop. That doesn’t really count.

3 – Not to panic. I had a moment at SFO that I freaked and then baby freaked out. Have less than 2 hours to catch a connecting flight when you still have to get through customs, immigration and re-check bags for a domestic flight? Smile. Be cool and calm. This is where #1 saved our asses, btw. We never would have made it to our connecting flight without the help of a lady that worked at the Auckland airport.

4 – Lauren does NOT like it when I wear headphones.

5 – To drink lots and lots of fluids. My ankles swelled up horribly and I drank a cup of water every single chance I got I was still totally thirsty.

6 – To get up and walk around from time to time. Now I know this one is tricky. I was seated at the window seat in economy class, had the lady in front of me reclined all the way so she was hovering 4 inches from my lap, was snuggling with a restless toddler and had a passed out guy in the aisle seat (err, my husband) of my row and I had to pass on this one more often than I would have liked.

The Plane, view from the gate

In hindsight I realize that our flight went well even though it didn’t feel like it was going well at the time. Lauren was exhausted and she fell asleep nursing during takeoff. She woke up after a bit and was having issues settling down but as long as she was in my arms she seemed to deal with everything OK. This made it so I didn’t get much but to be quite honest I didn’t expect to get much rest anyway. I got to watch the flight data on my little TV screen and obsessively watched the KM traveled number get larger and larger. Landing was hard on Lauren because she didn’t want to nurse. So she screamed but people weren’t nearly as nasty about it as I had thought they would be. Maybe it was because the previous 12 hours she was really, really good but it also could have been because by that time the flight was nearly over so it was no big deal ::shrug:: The second short flight was awesome. I gave her an fruit pouch as were were waiting to board and her run around a play gate area to get some wiggles out. She passed out as we were taxiing and she woke up right after we landed. I got to sleep for a bit on that flight too which made that flight go by SUPER quickly.

About Jody

I am a wife. A mom. A newbie to New Zealand. I cook, I clean and am working on getting healthy. I am obsessed with coffee, love watching Burn Notice, and am happiest when (good) music is playing. View all posts by Jody

Leave a Reply

